EPIC BARS Reviewed: Are They Any Good?

Date:


Final replace Dec 24, 2022

An Epic EPIC Bar Evaluation (This Is Epic)

Meat as a snack? Who would have thought?

I used to be launched to EPIC Bars at PaleoFX final yr. My first thought:

Meat as a snack? Huh!

I had a style of the bison at their present desk and was impressed with the flavour. I figured I wanted to assessment the bars. Once I obtained house from the convention, I made a decision to look them up to take a look at the elements and dietary data to see how they stacked up.

BisonBarBisonBar

How Do EPIC Bars Stack Up Nutritionally?

The EPIC Bars firm describes the bars like this:

The EPIC bar is a 100% grass fed animal primarily based protein bar designed as nature supposed. Paleo pleasant, gluten free, and low in sugar, we imagine that EPIC meals ought to encourage EPIC well being.

So what’s really in these items? Nicely, listed here are the elements.

Beef

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 19.31.21Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 19.31.21

Substances: Natural Beef, Walnuts, Dried Cherries, Lactic Acid, Salt Celery Powder, Nice Black Pepper, Crushed Habanero.

Lamb

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 19.34.07Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 19.34.07

Substances: Natural Lamb, Natural Currants, Sea Salt, Lactic Acid, Celery Powder, Spices (Basil, Marjoram, Oregon, Rosemary, Crimson Pepper, Black Pepper), Sesame Seeds, Dehydrated Spearmint Leaves, Dehydrated Lemon Peel.

Turkey

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 19.32.55Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 19.32.55

Substances: Turkey, Almonds, Dried Cranberries (Cranberries, Apple Juice Focus), Lactic Acid, Seasoning (Coriander, Cumin, Nutmeg, Crimson Pepper, Dehydrated Garlic, Paprika, Dehydrated Onion). Salt, Celery Powder.

Bison

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 19.29.35Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 19.29.35

Substances: Bsion, Uncured Bacon – No Nitrites or Nitrates Added (Pork, Water, Brown Sugar, Salt, Vinegar, Celery Powder, Sea Salt), Dried Cranberries (Cranberries, Apple Juice Focus), Lactic Acid, Celery Powder, Sea Salt.

The large standout is the 8g of sugar, which is larger than we’d prefer it to be, however beside that (we’ll let it slide), EPIC Bars appear to be as much as snuff from an ingredient standpoint. No lengthy ingredient lists and no unpronounceable names. Win.

How Do EPIC Bars Style?

Nicely, they appear to cross the take a look at in relation to elements. Now for the actual take a look at. Do EPIC Bars style any good?

Nicely, I made my solution to Entire Meals, grabbed one in every of every of the completely different flavors, and went to work to strive them out for myself. The outcomes had been shocking…

Beef

This isn’t good. It tastes like a mashup of cranberries and dust. No lie. The bar is 2 {dollars} and I couldn’t end consuming it. I actually spat it again out as a result of it tasted so unhealthy.

Verdict: 1/5 stars (perhaps 0 out of 5 stars). Not a great begin!

Lamb

Surprisingly, this doesn’t actually style like lamb in any respect. This merely tastes like a great piece of beef jerky. I used to be shocked (particularly after the primary bar). Who knew lamb might be so tasty?

Verdict: 4/5 stars. Fairly good. Would eat once more.

Turkey

Emboldened by my final strive, I made a decision to offer the turkey bars a strive. Disappointment ensued once more. I’m undecided easy methods to describe this bar with out making it sound horrible, nevertheless it tasted just like the turkey model of the meat sort. So, sub out the meat flavored dust and change it with turkey flavored dust and cranberries. What occurred?

Verdict: 1/5 stars. Nope. Nope. Nope.

Bison

Simply the most effective taste. This tastes like a moist, BBQ model of your favourite jerky, with a bit spice, however not an excessive amount of.

5/5 Stars: All day. Every single day.

###

The (Epic) Epic Bar Verdict

I used to be shocked by the variations between the flavors. I hoped that every bar can be of the identical high quality, however the high quality diverse enormously.

So, what can we consider EPIC Bars? Nicely, they’re good… Should you get the suitable flavors. Persist with the bison and the lamb. These bars are tasty, scrumptious, and nice as fast snacks whenever you want one thing to battle off the starvation monsters. Should you’re feeling adventurous, go forward and check out the turkey or the meat, however don’t get a couple of of every, except you just like the style of ache in your mouth. EPIC Bars, after they’re good, are epically good, however after they’re unhealthy, they’re epically unhealthy!

The bars price ~$3 every and are a (barely undersized), however I’ll maintain just a few bison and lamb bars round in case of a starvation emergency (simply don’t make me eat the turkey or beef once more please!).

(particularly the bison one)

Take a look at a few of our different critiques apart from Epic Bar

Obtain Your FREE Paleo Starter Equipment At this time!


  • 3-Day Paleo Food plan Meal Plan
  • Complete Paleo Food plan Buying Record
  • 5 of Our Favourite Paleo Food plan Recipes

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:

Subscribe

Popular

More like this
Related

Phrase of Mouth: April 2018

In April’s version, we tackle the present disaster...

The way to Use the Smith Machine: Methods and Suggestions for Success

Have you ever ever walked right into a...

Addressing Healthcare Workforce Shortages Past Band-Aids

Healthcare is people. A hospital is merely a...

Easy methods to Detox Microplastics from the Physique

Desk of Contents Easy methods to detoxify microplastics from...